#bookreview Selfienomics: A Seriously Funny Guide to Living the Good Life by Revant

Author: Revant Himatsingka

Paperback: 196 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury India (18 November 2016)

Language: English

Category: Non-fiction

Rating: 4/5

wp-image-1230004103jpg.jpeg

Synopsis :

“Original version of a #selfie: Taking a photo of yourself rather than having someone else take it for you. You try out various filters and select the one that makes you look your best. #Selfienomics version of a #selfie: Reflecting on different aspects of your life and taking the initiative to improve so that you can be the best version of yourself. ”

And so begins Selfienomics, the first Indian self-help book written for young people by a young entrepreneur who speaks their language. Offering workable, practical advise on how to manage finances, start a business, complete creative projects and how to be a better citizen, Selfienomics is so funny, upbeat and entertaining, it’s not just a must-read but also a mast-read.

Review:

I do not particularly like reading non-fiction books.  But when saw this book on social sites I found myself interested in it and thanks to the publisher I got hold of it. This book has given me a lot to think about – like really deep thoughts. It is the reason that I have started writing a bookish diary in the first place. I found some lines in the book that I would like to discuss in my review. Not some, just two that have knocked deep into my head.

  • When something is too big, it loses its importance.                                                                        – This is something which is being said and remembered at some point in every human’s life. Whether the reason be wealth, love, care, giving your loved ones time, the fact of being too poor, the fact of being too rich – the more the fact holds position, the less importance it attracts. Did I confuse you? Let me see, now how to simplify it enough that my thoughts come out clear? Well, lets try this out… for example let’s say you love someone too much, care for that person too much, listen to him/her all the time, go everywhere the person wants you to go: you do this out of  love for the person, don’t you? But as time passes by you would definitely feel sad, due to the fact that the person does not acknowledge your love, your care, he/she has taken you for granted. What happens is that your care and love has become so big that it has lost the importance it had in your partners life. Another example, when we see a poor child sitting in the pavement, crying it’s lungs out because of hunger, we try to help that little belly by buying it something to eat or give some money. But if we see as many as 4-5 children doing the same, do we really feel like doing so? Don’t we think once that we don’t posses the capability to help them? Don’t we ignore the poor when we see a good no. of them together? Doesn’t it just seem normal? It so happens that with the no.of the poor increasing at a high rate we, the better ones have taken the happening as a “normal” feature. We consider them as a class, “the poor” just like “the normal people”.

So have I now made my thoughts clear? The more a fact gets bigger, the more it loses importance, it becomes NORMAL.

  • When we can mourn their death, why can’t we celebrate their life when they are alive?    – We someday or the other have to face death – whether it be of someone close to the heart, someone we used to know or even our own death. When someone close dies don’t  we feel the urge to let them know so many unsaid things, don’t we wish we had let them know the secrets that they had the right to know, don’t we want to get back to time and change the way we had behaved with the person? When I think  about the fact that someday I too am going to die, I find myself regretting over some decisions I have taken, the way I have behaved with someone, I feel like speaking out certain unsaid words. It might sound crazy but I often feel like standing on the rooftop and shout out everything I have in my mind -doesn’t matter  whether anyone is listening or not, at least I have said it all. Is a life worth living we have so many regrets? I believe that we should live each day as the last day of our life leaving no pace for regrets. I believe we should celebrate each time we feel joyous. Celebrations & parties don’t always need occasions,  birthdays or anniversaries. Sometimes all we need is a moment of joy, speaking our minds out, shouting, dancing and being all crazy. Let’s never feel regretful over the undone things for the one who died, let’s celebrate while he/she is still alive and make him/her more alive.

Let’s make a life worth living for us and everyone around us.

See, what the book has done to me? It has given me so many things to think about, so many lessons to realize my mistakes.  A non-fiction book which has given me so many useful tips that least expected before reading it. It’s a book I would suggest everyone to read. 

Links for buying the Book:

WITHIN INDIA:

Amazon.in: http://www.amazon.in/Selfienomics-Seriously-Funny-Guide-Living/dp/9386141671/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1480675856&sr=8-1&keywords=selfienomics

Flipkart.com: https://www.flipkart.com/selfienomics-seriously-funny-guide-living-good-life/p/itmema3hnwxgtqpn?pid=9789386141675&srno=s_1_1&otracker=search&lid=LSTBOK9789386141675LTRCEO&qH=e64fb75ac9456256

Infibeam.com: http://www.infibeam.com/Books/selfienomics-chilled-out-approach-living-good-life-revant-himatsingka/9789386141675.html#variantId=P-M-B-9789386141675

OUTSIDE INDIA (preorder):

Bookdepository.com: http://www.bookdepository.com/Selfienomics-Revant-Himatsingk/9789386141682?ref=grid-view

Wordery.com: https://wordery.com/selfienomics-revant-himatsingka-9789386141682?cTrk=MzEyNjE2Mzh8NTg0MTU2NzU4MGUyZjoxOjE6NTg0MTU2NTk5NzdjNDUuNTcwNzIyNDU6ZGEzYjU0MTg%3D

Amazon.com: https://www.amazon.com/Selfienomics-Seriously-Funny-Guide-Living/dp/938614168X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1480676407&sr=8-1&keywords=selfienomics

Leave a Reply

